It’s okay to grow slow

It’s okay to grow slow

When I first started studying God’s Word, I felt behind. I was in my mid-20s attending a church with what I perceived as mature followers of Jesus. I didn’t feel like I was there just yet. Today I understand I was exactly where God wanted me, and would grow how He wanted me to. Praise God He didn’t give me many opportunities before I was spiritually ready for them.

When I got married, I felt behind. I felt the need to know how to cook and clean like a professional and support my husband’s endeavors with all I had. Today I understand I had much to learn and can’t do it all.

When we bought our home, I felt behind. Not only did it take us years to make our first home purchase, but we still lacked all the furniture, decor, tools, etc. to fill it. Today I understand, again, just how much I need to learn first and how homeownership, like all other areas of life, is an ongoing process. We won’t just have a “finished” home overnight, and who even defines what a “finished” home is?

There’s clearly a theme here, and I have other examples in my life that also fit the bill. Why do I tend to feel I’m not where I’m supposed to be when God makes the timeline for me? Why do I want to rush the process time and time again? Patience, a fruit of the Spirit, is clearly one I lack.

While I may feel like I should be at a certain life stage or level of Christian “accomplishment,” I’m still learning that I will grow and flourish at His pace, not mine. He sets the path, not me.

“In their hearts humans plan their course,
    but the Lord establishes their steps.”
Proverbs 16:9 NIV

It’s not my job to set the timeline for my sanctification, or anyone else’s. It’s not my job to determine the timeline of my life, or anyone else’s. If the Lord wants me to become a mother, He will, and it will be on His timeframe and in His perfect way. If the Lord wants to relocate us to another state or even country, He will. If the Lord wants us to minister to someone, He will guide us there.

It is my job to trust Him with all of it and to remain in Him. Jesus tells us to abide (to remain) in Him. Apart from Him, we can do nothing. If I try to set the pace for everything by myself, I am essentially forcing His hand rather than letting Him guide me. To guide means, “to lead or direct in a way; to conduct in a course or path; as, to guide an enemy or a traveler, who is not acquainted with the road or course.”

“I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.”
John 15:5 ESV

Though sometimes I might slip up and believe the enemy’s lie that tells me I’m behind or slow or not there yet, I’m actually living and growing at the pace the Lord wants me to be. After all, I won’t “arrive” until I’m face to face with Jesus. None of us in the faith will. In the meantime, I AM growing and flourishing. Growth is the point.

Friend, if you feel like you are lacking in some area today, know the Lord has you right where HE wants you. Despite what the world says, we actually don’t determine our future. God does. He is the Creator. He is sovereign. He is the Founder and Perfecter of our faith. He determines the timeline. He sets the pace. Not us. Isn’t that a relief?!

All we are commanded to do is trust, obey, remain, surrender, love. We are not called to hurry, rush, cram, control, catch up, disobey, worry, or cling to sin.

He holds the master plan. While we can and are encouraged to plan for things in life, He determines our actual steps getting there, and He leads us through it. He makes the way for it. He determines what happens while we get where we are going. He determines what actually comes next.

While we obey and remain in Him, He develops us. He grows that fruit of the Spirit in us. He teaches us patience that we can’t learn on our own. He teaches us faithfulness that comes through testing. He shows us Who He is and we begin to fully trust Him. He equips us and trains us in righteousness.

It’s okay to grow slow. He wants us to surrender all things to Him so that He can be in the driver’s seat without us reaching for the steering wheel. In a world that values productivity, efficiency, speed, and convenience, it’s God’s “upside down” Kingdom that values slow, patient, tested, true growth. Like a field that flourishes and reaches a harvest in its time, the Lord will accomplish what He wants in us in His timeframe alone.

“But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”
Matthew 6:33-34
ESV

“As for that in the good soil, they are those who, hearing the word, hold it fast in an honest and good heart, and bear fruit with patience.”
Luke 8:15
ESV

“The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all should reach repentance.”
2 Peter 3:9
ESV

“Trust in the Lord, and do good;
    dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.”
Psalm 37:3 ESV

One response to “It’s okay to grow slow”

  1. Kelley Avatar
    Kelley

    Great read and truth, Anna!

    God bless you, your gift, your ministry, your marriage, and your life❤️🙏

    I love you and I’m proud of you!

    Kelley

    Like

Leave a comment

I’m Anna

I’m a follower of Jesus, a wife, friend, and writer. In 2017 I moved to a new state and encountered Jesus in a fresh, intimate way that changed everything. In search for a fresh start and larger purpose, I found that and so much more through Him. Now, I’m continuing to grow in my faith and sharing about some things I’m learning along the way. Welcome, friend!

Let’s connect

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started